Dinwiddie County Virginia DUI DWI Lawyers
When operating a motor vehicle, boat or watercraft in Dinwiddie County, Virginia, you are legally considered driving or operating under the influence (DUI) if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher. You may be considered under the influence with a lower BAC if your ability to operate a motor vehicle, boat or water craft is impaired. If your driving is affected because you are under the influence of any drug, you may face the same penalties as driving under the influence of alcohol. If you are involved in a motor vehicle crash and a law enforcement officer has probable cause, you can be arrested for DUI within three hours of the crash without a warrant and at any location. If you are arrested for DUI a third or subsequent time within a five-year period, you will not be granted bail while you wait to go to trial. All DUI laws apply to mopeds operated on public highways
Driving Under The Influence in the Commonwealth of Virginia is prohibited by Virginia Code Section 18.2-266 and is a criminal offense. If you have been arrested for DUI in Dinwiddie County, then you should contact Dinwiddie DUI Attorney David Long. It can be very intimidating when dealing with the police, prosecutors and the courts. In Dinwiddie ,Virginia you can be arrested for drunk driving if there is probable cause, which is often gathered from police field sobriety tests. Furthermore, the Penalties for a Dinwiddie , VA DUI conviction can be devastating and significantly affect your lifestyle, particularly if either a breath test or blood test indicates a high blood alcohol content (BAC).
Virginia has enacted some of the toughest Driving Under the Influence (DUI) laws in the country. The Virginia Highway Safety Office and Law Enforcement will continue to spearhead programs to take drivers under the influence off the road. Virginia has also created the Checkpoint Strikeforce initiative is a regional, multi-state program designed to hold DUI checkpoints every week.
Drinking and Driving Facts
- Blood alcohol content (BAC) is the amount of alcohol in a person’s body as measured by the weight of the alcohol in a certain volume of blood. Alcohol is absorbed directly through the walls of the stomach and the small intestine. It goes into the bloodstream, and travels throughout the body and to the brain. Alcohol is quickly absorbed and can be measured within 30 to 70 minutes after a person has had a drink.
- A BAC as low as .03 percent adversely affects driving ability. As little as one drink on an empty stomach can impair your ability to drive safely.
- A driver with a BAC of 0.15 is over 300 times more likely to be involved in a fatal crash.
Experienced Dinwiddie DUI DWI Lawyers
Virginia DUI Attorney David Long particularly focuses his practice in the areas of DUI DWI and traffic offenses. Our law firm has successfully represented clients who have been charged with DUI or DWI offenses. Some outcomes have included a not guilty verdict or a resolution that resulted in a reduced charge; saving clients from some of the punishments and requirements of a Dinwiddie County, Virginia DUI conviction.
Our Virginia DUI Lawyers can help you if you have been charged with Richmond DUI, Chesterfield County DUI, Hanover County DUI, Dinwiddie County DUI, Goochland County DUI, Powhatan County DUI, Prince George County DUI or Henrico DUI offenses.